The British-Luxembourg Society
Sir Winston Churchill Memorial Lectures

Churchill cc


Over the years we have had the privilege to host this annual event and invite a series of eminent speakers from the British political, economic or cultural world. 

Past speakers have included: The Rt. Hon. Margaret Thatcher, former British Prime Minister; The Rt. Hon. Neil Kinnock, former Vice-President of the European Commission; The Rt. Hon. Christopher Patten, former European Commissioner for External Relations; The Rt. Hon. Douglas Hurd CBE MP, former British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs; and Eddie George, former Governor of the Bank of England.

The speakers gave a lecture on their topic of choice, generally but not always a European theme.


We are very happy to announce that the 2021 lecture on 18th May will be given by


Lord Patten of Barnes

who will speak about

"China and the New Global Balance"


Lord Patten is Chancellor of the University of Oxford and former European Commissioner for External Affairs.  He was the Chairman of the Conservative Party from 1990 to 1992 and the last Governor of Hong Kong from 1992 to 1997. 

The lecture will be held on-line jointly with the Bridge Forum Dialogue as well as our usual partners at the British Embassy, the Oxford University Society of Luxembourg and La Fondation Nationale de la Résistance (FONARES).

Louise Benjamin-Schilling, President of the British-Luxembourg Society.
Professor Catherine Léglu on behalf of the Bridge Forum Dialogue
A representative of the British Embassy to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

David Clark, Chairman of the Oxford University Society of Luxembourg
Sir Nicholas Forwood QC, Patron of the British-Luxembourg Society



 Registration is still open   (click here)



 Previous Lectures >